Calcasieu Historical Preservation Society Logo

 

Calcasieu Historical Preservation Society

Merlot Colored LogoThe 39th annual Palm Sunday Tour of Homes themed “Beautiful Bones,” was held on April 13, 2014 and featured the six homes pictured below.

All of the homes are located in or near the Charpentier Historic District and offered this tour patrons a a variety of architectural styles.

 

 

1030 Pujo Street, Rhino Rhenovators

Circa 1905

1030 Pujo Street
The American Four Square form with double porches characterizes this property which has really had only two owner-occupiers in its nearly 110 years.  
 
Lydia and Joe Cash had a long term renovation relationship with this house which they bought from the original builder-owners Amanda and Granville Wollman.  
 
Currently being upgraded and refreshed by Rhino Rhenovators' owner Randy LeJeune, the new changes will return the family home to its full function and to its turn-of-the-century charm.
 
Long-time preservationists and collectors, Lydia and Joe Cash lived for over 30 years in the house and made several improvements including replacing the front double porches and added the doubled columns to give the house a more traditional two-bay form.  

Read more...

912 Pujo Street, The Schindler Home

Landmark Registered in 1993 as The Leopold Kaufman Cottage, Circa 1895  

912 Pujo Street
This early brick cottage is a remarkable find in Lake Charles, a town better known for its traditional wooden architecture of pine and cypress.  
 
The cottage was constructed by Leopold Kaufman, a French immigrant from Alsace-Lorraine who settled in Lake Charles in 1879 and who pioneered several mercantile businesses in the region.  He was a leader in the Jewish community, and helped to organize Temple Sinai and the First National Bank, as well as the public library board on which he served until his death in 1937. 

Architectural historians describe the cottage as a double-bay shotgun cottage in brick with unique coastal south features. A few scholars consider the cottage as the unique example of a solid brick pre-twentieth century bungalow in the state, citing its unusual building style and type. 

633 Cleveland, The Moreno Home

Landmark Registered in 1998 as the Arthur Humphrey House, Circa 1901

633 Cleveland

This three-story wooden structure was constructed by the Arthur Humphrey family in 1901, but it is closely connected to members of the musical Roy and Hattie Brown family.  
 
After the Great Fire of 1910 which had destroyed an earlier home for the Browns further downtown, Mr. Brown bought this grand clapboard house in late 1910 and his family remained in the house until 1993 when the last Brown family member died at 104 years of age.  
 
Bernice Brown, a renowned piano teacher, taught in the east parlor, and decades of Lake Charles residents remember learning piano, or enjoying musicales at this house.

The Humphreys were involved in the lumber and construction business, and Arthur designed and built the house of locally sourced pine and cypress.

Read more...

1025 Kirby Street, The Bourge Home

Circa 1902

1025 Kirby StreetThis modest but charming full-front porch craftsman cottage has had really only three owners in its long history. Megan Guillory and Jeff Bourge, the current owners, acquired the home in 2013.
 
The original owner-builders were Mary Frances LaGrange Hoover and husband W. D. Hoover in 1902, and the widowed Mrs. Hoover herself sold the house to Melanie Pesson just before her death.  The third owners purchased the house directly from Ms Pesson, and are just now completing an upgrade renovation of its excellent 112 year old bones.
 
The exterior of the home is sawmill-craftsman in style, featuring the paneled one-story Lake Charles columns on the wide front porch.  The lumber from interior framing to exterior drop clapboards came from Calcasieu pine and cypress at a time when Lake Charles was home to almost two dozen working sawmills and major woodworking shops that processed locally sourced timber.  

Read more...

1112 Hodges Street, The Rhoden Home

Circa 1910 

1112 Hodges

Oliver Ryan Moss and his wife Rose Pujo Moss built this house just after the Great Fire of 1910 and upon their demise the house was deeded to their daughter Pearl Moss.

Much later, Pearl willed the property to her niece, Yvonne Giovanni.  One of the results of the Great Fire was a rapid expansion of the city, with much new development along the expanded streetcar lines and newer residential areas just to the south and southeast of the traditional downtown. 

Much of what the current owners, the Richard Rhoden family, have done is to restore the house to its proper use as a residence.  The most recent owners, a real estate company, had used the structure as a commercial business.

Read more...

518 Clarence, The Shreve Home

Circa 1906

 
518 Clarence
This good example of a craftsman-style American Four Square has an exceptionally authentic interior with the lighting, moldings, fireplaces, flooring and general layout original to its construction in the early part of the last century.  
 
Stella Sudduth purchased the property in 1902, which at the time was the south end of the city.  By 1913 when the curbs and sidewalks were first installed in the area, the house was already in place with its distinctive wide windows, broad inviting porch and craftsman inspired details.
 
After the time of the original owner-builder, the house was then home to the Trotter family in the twenties, then back to the Sudduth family for a time.  For about fifty years, it was home to a succession of the Moss family, a line of the area pioneer Moss family for whom Moss Street is named.

Read more...